

MANAGEMENT REPORT

SUBJECT:	VPL TRUSTEE APPOINTMENTS	
FROM:	Jennifer Chan, Board Chair	
TO:	Library Board	
Meeting Date:	February 24, 2021	
VanDOCS #:	DOC/2021/037092	
Author:	Christina de Castell, Chief Librarian & CEO	
Date:	February 8, 2020	

SUMMARY

This report recommends trustee appointments to the Public Library InterLINK Board, Friends of VPL Board, VPL Foundation Board and VPL Trust for 2021, and provides for information the membership of committees and the VPL trustees elected to the BCLTA Board.

PURPOSE

This report is for decision.

RECOMMENDATION

THAT the Board appoint Raji Mangat as representative to the Public Library InterLINK Board for a term of one year;

THAT the Board appoint Kevin Lowe as backup representative to the Public Library InterLINK Board for a term of one year;

THAT the Board appoint Abeer Yusuf as liaison to the Friends of VPL Board for a term of one year;

THAT the Board appoint Kurt Heinrich as representative to the VPL Foundation Board for a term of one year; and

THAT the Board appoint Zahra Hussein as liaison to the VPL Trust Board for a term of two years.

POLICY

The *Board Procedure Policy* identifies the VPL Board committees and the role of the Chair to propose members. Each VPL Board committee has terms of reference approved by the Board.

BACKGROUND

The Board appoints representatives/liaisons to organizations affiliated with VPL on an annual basis, with the exception of the VPL Trust, which is a two year appointment. Annual appointments include:

- Public Library InterLINK Board
- Liaison to the Friends of VPL Board
- Liaison to the VPL Foundation Board

All trustees are members of the BC Library Trustees Association, which elects its Board from among its membership. Rhonda Sherwood and Harlan Pruden have been elected to the BCLTA Board for terms from 2020-2022.

The Board Chair assigns trustees to VPL Board committees after discussion with individual trustees and appoints chairs of the committees. Committee membership for 2021 follows.



BOARD COMMITTEES AND TRUSTEE ROLES – 2021

Board Membership	Governance Committee	Community Relations Planning & Development Committee	Services, Finance & Human Resources Committee
Jennifer Chan – Chair Raji Mangat – Vice Chair Kevin Lowe – Vice Chair Rhonda Sherwood Kurt Heinrich Harlan Pruden Zahra Hussein Rebecca Jules Abeer Yusuf Karen Spears Stuart Mackinnon – Park Board Commissioner Barbara Parrot – Vancouver School Board Trustee Clr. Christine Boyle – Vancouver City Councillor	Harlan Pruden – Chair Kevin Lowe Rhonda Sherwood Jennifer Chan Kurt Heinrich Zahra Hussein Raji Mangat Any trustee can attend, and participate in, a meeting of the Governance Committee. To be scheduled as needed before or after CRPD meetings.	Kurt Heinrich – Chair Harlan Pruden Rebecca Jules Abeer Yusuf Raji Mangat Jennifer Chan To generally take place on the third Monday of each month.	Zahra Hussein – Chair Rhonda Sherwood Karen Spears Kevin Lowe Jennifer Chan To generally take place on the third Wednesday of each month.
Friends of VPL:Abeer YusufInterLINK:Raji MangatVPL Foundation:Kurt HeinrichInterLINK (Alternate):Kevin LoweVPL Trust (2021-2023):Zahra HusseinBCLTA Board (2020-2022):Harlan Pruden & Rhonda Sherwood			